IT’S MUM’S FAULT

The Mission kids are definitely testing me at the moment; I think there might be something in the air affecting all kids and not just mine. But still it seems that every time they forget something or something happens it’s simply not their fault, not in the slightest. So who is to blame for them forgetting that they had PE that day, well it seems it was ALL MY FAULT!

Take yesterday for an example, just a typical day in the Mission house then:

Teenage Mission comes home from school “Mum YOU forgot to get my cookery stuff” well if you don’t tell me I can’t get it, his reply “it was written in my homework folder” Hmmmm still can’t see why this is my fault. But I obviously missed the lesson were mums are supposed to riffle through 12 year olds school bags and look in their homework folder to see what he has got the next day.

SO LESSON 1 LEARNT: I MUST CHECK IN TEENAGE MISSIONS HOMEWORK FOLDER AND SEE WHAT HE HAS GOT FOR THE WEEK AHEAD, AND MAYBE HE WOULD LIKE ME TO DO HIS HOMEWORK FOR HIM AS WELL?

Then Drama Mission wanted a snack before she went to Tae Kwon Do, so off she went to make some toast: “Mum YOU burnt the toast” when actually she was making the toast not me, I wasn’t even anywhere near the kitchen for a change. But of course it was my fault because I’m responsible for everything that happens in the kitchen; after all it is MY KITCHEN!

LESSON 2 LEARNT: I MUST NEVER ALLOW ANYONE IN THE KITCHEN EVER, BECAUSE IN MY ABSENCE EVERTHING THAT HAPPENS IN THERE IS STILL MY FAULT!

AND THEN TO TOP IT OFF

Princess Mission told me “Mum YOU forgot my library book” after me handing her book bag to her just as we left the house. It seems it was still technically my fault because she was just zipping her coat up. Even though Thursday is Library book day, but she still insists on taking it every day!

LESSON 3 LEARNT: I MUST REMEMBER TO TAKE EVERYONES BAGS OUT TO THE CAR IN THE MORNINGS BECAUSE IF THEY FORGET ANYTHING, YOU CAN BE SURE TO HEAR THE WORDS:

MUM YOU FORGOT MY COAT/LUNCHBOX/PE KIT/BOOK BAG/ETC

The key word in that sentence is YOU, just incase YOU missed it.

It seems that I’m now not only responsible for running the Mission house and looking after the Missions running around this house, but I’m also liable for anything they forget to do, or forget to tell me to do.

So the morale of the story is us mum’s are NEVER meant to forget ANYTHING and if we do (because let’s face it we aren’t perfect all the time) then when we arrive at school, the children will make a point of telling the teacher that MUM FORGOT!

About Lena Doherty

Mummy to four and Wifey to one. I'm a 34 year old,who is following her dream of becoming a Freelance Journalist/Columnist. Trying to make a better life for her little family, dreams of living in the country. Thats all really!
This entry was posted in children, family life, mum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

