MUMMY’S DREAM

Well I suppose I’d better introduce myself my name is Lena Doherty (le to friends), I’m 34 so that makes me way too old to ever work for the BBC, and I really don’t have the face for radio let alone TV.   
I started a writing a few years ago now, then a friend convinced me to do a course with the Writers Bureau back in October 2009, and hope to gain my qualification as a writer/Journalist come the summer, then that’s when the hard work begins trying to break into the world of magazines and news paper’s.  I’m also a mummy to four great kids, each with dreams all of their own, but that is a whole other story. You have probably met them all already at some point in my blog.
I’m married to a hard working man called Wayne, who on occasions drives me nuts, but apparently that’s what husbands are meant to do!  He forgets all important dates, he is late for everything and he is an old fashioned kind of guy who believes his wife should do all the chores around the house whilst he looks after his main priority his 1966 VW split screen camper. 
But I love him all the same and I wouldn’t have him any other way because when he does help out he puts coloured washing in with the whites wash, he loads the dishwasher all wrong and if I asked him to change the bed then oh don’t get me started.
My dream is to be a successful Journalist and Columnist, maybe one day the dream will come true but until then I will be working hard to make sure it does.   I don’t want to be famous; I just want to be able to express my views and opinions about what happens in this crazy world and believe me it is CRAZY!
I have spent most of my life worrying about what people think of me, until this year when I vowed to make all of my dreams come true.  
At the stroke of midnight I vowed that I would be a successful Columnist, and create a better life for my family.
In this day and age most women work, look after their families and juggle the housework all without breaking into a sweat.  Well that is of course unless your celebrity mum, but they are completely different bread of MUM! (Well some of them are anyway)
I’m going to be writing about all the news that gets me hot under the collar, the news that makes me laugh and cry and whole host of other things in between, so sit back grab a cuppa and I hope you enjoy.
Pssst. If you know of any editors looking for a columnist, tell them I’m funny, caring and not afraid of a bit of hard work. Then show them this blog and get them to drop me an email J
About Lena Doherty

Mummy to four and Wifey to one. I'm a 34 year old,who is following her dream of becoming a Freelance Journalist/Columnist. Trying to make a better life for her little family, dreams of living in the country. Thats all really!
This entry was posted in career, children, dad, family life, husband, journalism, mission, mum, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

