GIVE THAT MAN A GOLD STAR

Daddy Mission is a man and this was confirmed a week ago. You see as a mummy I spend my days running around like a pure lunatic, washing, ironing, cleaning, looking after the kids, sorting the house out and working.

So in my rush to get Drama Mission to Drama class last Sunday, I forgot to wash the 3 breakfast dishes that the children had used for their rushed breakfasts that morning. I had only been out of the house for about an hour when I got a phone call. It was Daddy, my heart sank. Was everything okay at home? Had the house burnt down? Had he been in some sort of accident and needed me urgently? NO…. He was ring to tell me he had washed the dishes that I had left on the side in the kitchen.

Oh my lord, I started to laugh down the phone. He asked “why are you laughing?” My reply “My darling when you have looked after all of the children and tidied the house from top to bottom then come back to me and THEN you can have a gold star”. He wasn’t best impressed with my response; well what did he expect it was three dishes.

But after speaking to my sister, it seems that this gold star syndrome runs through MOST men. They want one every time they do something around the house. Stuff we do every day, mundane, boring jobs, do you hear us bleating for recognition. No. Because if we did we would be told that it was OUR job anyway.

There are so many examples to M.G.S.S (men’s gold star syndrome):

My brother in law for example: He was put in charge of watching his own son and took it upon himself to do his OWN ironing whilst my poor sister was suffering from morning sickness. He made her tell all their friends that he had done the ironing!

Another example: Why is it when you decided to go out, (once in every blue moon) they decided to tell their friends they can’t come out because they are babysitting. But when you are minding the children on a daily basis you are just looking after YOUR children.

Also when they make a meal (Yes, beans on toast) they want you to worship them like they are Gordon Ramsey and they have made you a master piece.

Maybe I’m being harsh, but I bet you are all nodding in agreement (yes you are) MOST men are born DRAMA QUEENS! So let’s give them the gold star they truly deserve, but let’s make sure that when they sign the gold star agreement we get something pretty for EVERY JOB we do around the house too.

About Lena Doherty

Mummy to four and Wifey to one. I'm a 34 year old,who is following her dream of becoming a Freelance Journalist/Columnist. Trying to make a better life for her little family, dreams of living in the country. Thats all really!
This entry was posted in children, dad, daddy, family life, husband. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to GIVE THAT MAN A GOLD STAR

  1. Anonymous says:

    A touch misandrist I feel. Thr modern man can cook clean tidy and look after kids and so I being one, feel deeply offended to be branded in such a misinformed way. I feel you are being hypocritical and acting the true drama queen.I have met many a woman who spends all their time moaning however I do not class all women as such.The issue appears to be in respect of your choice of male partner not males as a whole. Therefore the fault is your own and rather than addressing this, you moan. Several men who do little housework have been victims of the "MWDiT syndrome" or Mother who does it all syndrome. These men succle at their mothers tit until they marry and then their wife performs the same role. I feel your issue may be best directed at those responsible ie his mother and yourself for allowing this behaviour to continue.Yes looking after children is a difficult and rewarding role, which must cause you several challenges – Jeremy Kyle or Homes under the hammer or which friend shall I now ring for 2 hours etc.Maybe if you spent less time moaning and effectively communicating with your husband you may change his behaviour or at least address your own.

  2. Lena says:

    Dear AnnonSorry John!! Cover blown shame you didnt feel like you could put your name to you little piece of handy work.Game Over Goodbye.

  3. Miss N says:

    took this post as it was intended, a lighthearted observation. I love my other half more than anything but men do seem to announce when they have done housework – think it's just their nature to seek our approvalv funny stuff lady x

Leave a Reply

