Daddy and the Christmas Tree!

For those of you who know my hubby, he is kind, caring and as bloody stubborn as a mule. So you can imagine my shock last night when Daddy decided it was time for the tree to come out of the loft. I had only been asking for it for the past week, but I suppose he is like most men when it’s their idea that’s when things can finally happen.

The last time Daddy put up the tree was an amazing 13 years ago, I was heavily pregnant with Teenage Mission. I remember the day well; it was my last day at work before I started my maternity leave. I was an emotional wreck as it was with being hormonal and 8 months pregnant, but all the well wishes and cards just seemed to send me over the edge (mainly because no –one had thought of buying me any chocolate). Anyway Daddy came to pick me up from work as usual (well I couldn’t drive my bump wouldn’t fit behind the steering wheel of my metro), and we headed for home.

I had asked daddy for weeks to get a tree; it just didn’t feel like Christmas without one. He was such a bar humbug, he completely refused. I would have gone myself but I couldn’t drive, so on our way home he told me he had brought something for the baby. I was shocked, something else he had never done. I was excited to see what it was.

We arrived home and I waddled up the path, once in the house I noticed this thing of, well it was a tree and it had lights and baubles on it. Not what I had imagined, but there you go but underneath the tree was the icing on the cake. It was a card with MY name on it, I opened the card.

It read:

To Lena

BAR HUMBUG

Love

Wayne

So you see, that just about sums my lovely hubby up, he can have the greatest intentions in the world, SOMETIMES.

About Lena Doherty

Mummy to four and Wifey to one. I'm a 34 year old,who is following her dream of becoming a Freelance Journalist/Columnist. Trying to make a better life for her little family, dreams of living in the country. Thats all really!
This entry was posted in bar humbug, children, chocloate digestives, Christmas, christmas tree, dad, daddy, emotions, family life, funny, husband, maternity leave, pregnancy, presents, santa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

