Just 5 Minutes!

 

Have you ever noticed when you become a mum that you suddenly have no time for yourself?  Not even 5 minutes.  I was talking to some mummy friends today and it’s not just my children that are demanding, other mums are going through the same thing.

I can’t even remember the last time I actually got to go to the loo in peace, without the usual audience and barrage of questions.  It doesn’t stop at the loo; it seems that kids instinctively know when you are trying to have some mummy time. They will seek you out and put an end to any remote idea, they will get you:

When you’re in the bath, you will hear those four little words “I need the toilet”. 

On the phone, they will either start a fight or need your undivided attention right at that moment.

 Talking to a neighbour, this is Monsters favourite.  He picks his moment and then utters the words “Mummy I need a big poo”

Even when doing the dishes or the laundry there is just no escape!

Sitting down for 5 minutes is also a green light for the kids to start, wanting or needing something.  Imagine that you have just made a cup of tea; you slide two biscuits out of the pack (well it would be rude not to) then sneak into the living room for just 5 minutes.  You will most definitely hear those special words “MUM CAN I HAVE” “MUM I NEED” “MUM CAN YOU GET ME” “MUM”

So my plan to combat this, my plan for just 5 minutes mummy time, is to set my alarm clock to 6.30 am in the morning.  Sneak down the stairs and sit in the dark, for just 5 MINUTES!

Lots of love

Mummy Mission

About Lena Doherty

Mummy to four and Wifey to one. I'm a 34 year old,who is following her dream of becoming a Freelance Journalist/Columnist. Trying to make a better life for her little family, dreams of living in the country. Thats all really!
This entry was posted in 5 minutes, children, kids, lessons, life, mum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just 5 Minutes!

  1. theboyandme says:

    Brilliant! And slightly worrying because I have all this to look forward to.

  2. Helen says:

    So true!! I confess that I get up at 5am to have a whole hour to myself sometimes!!

Leave a Reply

