Mummy’s Guilty Pleasures.

 

I was asked by my lovely friend and fellow twitter mummy to list my top five “Guilty Pleasures”.  Well let’s face it as a mum’s we always put everyone else first and our own little pleasures can wait.

So my top Five Guilty Pleasures would have to be:

One:   Social Networking, I love spending time on Twitter and Facebook chatting away to like-minded Friends, Mummy’s and Bloggers.  I tend to be on in the day in between looking after little Monster, Working and Blogging.  I just love the fact that I have yet to meet these lovely people but it feels like we have been friends forever.

Two:   Chocolate, I have a secret little box hidden I the back of the camping cupboard and in it I store my favourite bar of chocolate.  Not that I’m being mean but sometimes we just have to have something for ourselves.  Even Daddy Mission doesn’t know where it’s kept, it’s all mine.

Three:   Blogging, this has to be one of my favourite guilty pleasures.  With four kids running around I don’t get much time to do it every day, but when I do get the chance I wander off into my own little world and forget the world is still going on around me.

Four:    My Books, at the moment I am writing two books.  One is going to be called a Job for Mummy:  it’s about the struggles we all face as mum’s to find the perfect career that will fit in around our family life.  The other is called “The Dream” this is one of my favourites and its a book of honestly, hopefully if it makes it to the publishers it will make you laugh, cry and want to move to the country.  I do try to spend some time each day on at least one of them, normally at about 6am in the morning when Daddy Mission has left for work and the kids are still asleep.

Five:   Mummy Time, This is when I try to spend just 10 minutes in silence doing what I want to do.  That sounds so selfish but with children you forget what me time actually is.  Before the kids I would think of nothing going in the bath for three hours or painting my nails.  So I vowed to make just a little bit of time for me to relax and enjoy.

So now is the time to pass the baton on, lets see what my other mummy blogger friends define as their Mummy Guilty Pleasures

@Mammy Woo – Lexy

@lincolnandme – Mary

@Themummylife – Laura

@JennyKatexx – Jenny

@Allimarshall – Alli

@Theboyandme-

@Coffeetoatea – Kath

 Right ladies over to you, loves you lots

Mummy Mission

About Lena Doherty

Mummy to four and Wifey to one. I'm a 34 year old,who is following her dream of becoming a Freelance Journalist/Columnist. Trying to make a better life for her little family, dreams of living in the country. Thats all really!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mummy’s Guilty Pleasures.

  1. Jennykate says:

    First off,I’d love to read your books & wish you all the luck in the world in getting them published,you are a fantastic writer Lena!.
    My guilty pleasures…hmm
    1)Getting my nails done every 4 weeks & seceretly nipping on the sunbed once a week if I get chance(Bad for me,I know!),but it’s my guilty pleasure .
    2)Reading,I love to read especially in bed,if I can sneak away for an early night (to read),alone,I’m happy,I also like a nice choc bar whilst I read.
    3)Writing,writing,& more writing,I’ve always liked writing..Diarys,Lists,Dreams,Thoughts,Letters,I could go on & on!!,I’m really looking forward to start writing a blog(just hope I’m not to boaring),also hope at least a few people read it .
    4)I do like a glass of Pinot on a weekend…well a bottle to be honest,I never relax apart from when I have wine !!
    5)Last but not least,I love to tweet & talk to all my lovely Twitter friends,I actually feel sad & miss them all if I’m to busy to be on Twitter,I’ve found the most lovely people,who make a huge difference to my life.X

  2. missielizzieb says:

    Great post. You’re right, its so hard to find time to yourself when you’ve got kids.

    I can’t even remember the last time I went to the loo uninterrupted!

    Good luck with the writing, very impressed you’re writing not one but 2 books!

    My list would be very similar to yours. I think Twitter, Chocolate, Drinking tea in peace, blogging and reading in bed would be mine. x

Leave a Reply

